top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Swampy and Boggy series

Swampy and Boggy series: My quick take on Netflix's Polish Web Series "The Mire"


I had fallen in love with the Polish language series after seeing “1983, a Polish series available on Netflix. Because I knew so little about this Iron Curtain country. Poland of the past is still a big enigma for me, hence this two-season of dubbed online series "The Mire" drew me in. A mire is a swamp or marshy area in its literal sense.


True to its namesake, the web series is set in a mundane village where a double murder occurs. The police want to close the investigation because it concerns a local politician, but a team of journalists is digging in their heels and going after the truth.


The story's pace is as sluggish as the swampy title, yet some strong performances by the actors compensate for the plodding pace and elevate the serenity.


I saw this series a couple of weeks ago, but I couldn't swiftly express my thoughts; perhaps the Mire was draining my excitement as well.


Season 2 is no exception, but it moves a little faster with the arrival of an Inspector who is sent to the town temporarily. She is a bad-ass officer, and she is hell bent to investigate a new case of flash flood devastation. This flash flood brings fore lots of skeletons.


What I loved best about these two seasons is how the plot is tied to the past (Cold War days), however, I'm not sure if this is an untold piece of history.


The low-light photography contributes to the eerie atmosphere of the story. The performances of the performers in both seasons are pleasant.


You can watch it if you want to see a slow-paced murder mystery with a hint of history.


It is available in the English language too.



4 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page