top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Everlasting ‘Bond’

Everlasting ‘bond’: My quick take on Daniel Craig’s “No time to die”


I wanted to watch it a month back when it was released in Dubai’s theaters, but somehow I just couldn't make it as we were busy getting ready for our maiden destination wedding in the family. Now after we were back I grabbed the first opportunity I got, thanks to my son Chinmay Bilgi.


Let me confess that I was a bit disappointed because the movie was removed from the main screen and was shown in small theaters (100 seaters) hence I missed the opportunity to bid a fitting farewell to my favorite bond on a huge IMAX SCREEN. Secondly, it was a home theater-like experience for me because it was just like watching a movie at home with just 5-6 members 😜.


Bond movies are designed for theatrical viewing, these tailormade to big screens and NTTD is no different, it's an experience not to be missed. According to my this swan song of Daniel Craig will be remembered as his best. Apart from the usual fast-paced screenplay, high octane car chases, breathtaking stunts, mind-boggling locations it also had a wonderful plot with a touch of emotion. I should say that Daniel Craig has given it all in his last act (remember this will be his last avatar as 007).


In my family, the vote for the best bond is divided as my elder brothers vie for manly Sean Connery while I enjoyed Roger Moores's bond till I watched this NTTD, now for me Daniel Craig tops the list. Unlike the Indian team's coach who failed to perform in his notice period, James bond who is also serving his notice period post his resignation from MI5 pads up once again to ‘save the world’.


I only wish the plot had a more menacing villain, although Rami Malik tried his best, somehow his tepid personality seemed misfit for me. The movie also introduces the next 007, but ‘she’ somehow could not impress me. Not sure why the makers want to change the gender of this super-spy? I only hope that such a wonderful franchise doesn't end up in another ‘charlie’s angel’ franchise. I am ‘shaken as well as stirred’ with this thought how this lady 007 will introduce herself in the next bond movies??


One more thing which I loved about the movie was that it took references to many Bond movies of the recent past like quantum of solace, sky fall, and Spectre, hence if you are an avid bond fan then you will thoroughly enjoy it. Even otherwise the movie is so well written that even if you Don't remember earlier movies you can still watch and enjoy it as a stand-alone plot.

The movie ends on a somber note suggesting the James Bond is no more, but I somehow smell a rat here, since his dead body was not shown I am sure that Bond will be back in a new avatar, after all we have an everlasting ‘bond’ with ‘Bond’ , then how can he desert us?


Watch it, if you are a bond buff if you love fast-paced action, if love pristine cinematography, if you want to see Daniel Craig giving his best performance to date, else watch T20WC without boys in blue.


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page