top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Haunting masterpiece

Haunting masterpiece: My quick take on Rishab Shetty’s ‘Kantara’


Just don't miss this Kannada action thriller. It will keep you on edge of your seat throughout the length of the movie. I am kicking myself for watching this masterpiece so late, it was released along with mega-budget movies like PS1 and Vikram vedhas. Thanks to my buddy Vageesh Vishwanath B K who was the first one to have introduced me to this mystical classic, then I came across hoards of rave reviews about Kantara and most of them came from non-Kannada speaking sources. I saw it in Dubai yesterday and was pleasantly surprised that the movie is in its 2nd week of running and is still house full. Take a bow Team Kantara.


Looks like the talent of the Malayalam movie industry has rubbed off to the neighboring Mangalorean movie makers because every department of Kantara’s movie making be its story, its screenplay, its impressive cast, its location shots, its background music, its awesome low light cinematography, it's pristine location, it jumps scare moments, it's raw and rustic action scenes, it's outstanding performances of the entire cast, and mind-boggling climax, everything is simply superlative.


It’s a RRR moment for the Kannada movie as they have found their RRR in one person Rishab, the writer, Rishab, the Director and Rishab, the actor. He has beautifully adapted local folklore and culture to a modern context. Secondly hand picking actors for this impressive ensemble of cast. Thirdly bringing on board some supremely talented technicians (music and Cinematography). After hero and Garuda vahana, this is the third movie I saw of this extremely talented actor Rishab Shetty and let me confess I am becoming his big fan.


On the performance front, the entire cast has given its best, they are absolutely natural in front of the camera. Kishore, who plays an upright forest officer is very impressive (I loved his performance in She S02). I only wish the romantic track of shiva and Leela was curtailed a bit because it laxed the pace of the screenplay. Action choreography is simply awesome, especially the fight in the mud pit of the buffalo race track is paisa vasool.


Remember it’s a “Hombale” product, these KGF guys have always given blockbusters and with Kantara, they will extend their record of hits.


Watch it, it’s probably the best movie of 2022 according to me.


2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page