top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Inspiring Melodrama !

Inspiring Melodrama : My quick take on Marathi movie “ananya” (Amazon prime)


Let me thank my London-based cousin for recommending this saga of steely resilience and the never-say-die attitude of the human mind. But for my cousins’n reminder I would have missed this beautiful movie. Maybe I had overlooked the fact that like Malayalam cinema even Marathi cinema is content rich.


It is said the movie is based on a Marathi play, if so, then I should admit that it is beautifully adapted for the cinema screen. plot hovers around a brilliant girl Ananya who is pursuing her CA finals, she is a doting daughter to a father and a loving sister to an MBA brother who is looking for a job. Ananya gets engaged to a tycoon’s son and they decide to get married after her CA finals.


Ananya’s life turns turtle after a mishap when she looses her both limbs (hands) , a briilliant girl who was an asset to the family suddenly becomes a liability and her fight for survival starts. Her survival story is the main peimise of the movie. Her fight to overcome the handicap is simply awesome.

As they say that ‘life is full of miracles & if u Dont come across one, then be one’. Such stories of triumphs always inspire us. Hruta Durgule plays Ananya’s role with aplomb, one should also commend the VFX team for digitally chopping her limbs.


I loved the half of the plot (till Ananya becomes independent ) , the later plot with Ameya Wagh seems to be a force fit and looks very ‘filmi’ , in my view this could have been avoided.


Overall this tearjerker movie is definitely watchable. It is available on Amazon Prime.


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page