top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Leaving your mark (Chirebandi Kulkarni WADA)

Leaving your mark (Chirebandi Kulkarni WADA)


I'm from a city where the skyline is lined with 16th and 17th-century landmarks, such as Aurangabad's 57 darwaza/s (gates), Bibi ka Maqbara, Sunheri Mahal, Panchakki, and Bani Begum Garden, to name a few. Because Aurangabad (Maharashtra) is a historically significant city, it is densely inhabited with these structures. Without going into history, let me just admire these lime and brick structures that have stood the test of time without the use of reinforced steel or cement. Looking at today's construction technology, which cannot guarantee a building's life span of more than 40-50 years, these 3-4 century-old structures must be laughing heartily.


I was in Aurangabad for a couple of days last week, and this time I chose to hook up with Anirudha Kulkarni, one of my engineering college buddies who, after a long period as a fellow ex-pat in the Middle East, had decided to take a break from professional duties and return to his passion (Organic Farming). He told me a few years ago that he was going to build a house that would be free of cement and steel, and that the structure would last for 4-5 centuries. To be honest, he sounded a little insane, which tested my engineering instincts at the time.


I had assumed that this would be a tiny one-room project that my friend would pursue, but when I arrived at this massive construction, I was stunned by the beauty and majesty of this "Kulkarni Wada." It's termed an AVD (arch Vault Dome) building since every room has a dome as the ceiling. This load-bearing structure didn't use a single gram of steel, but the walls and overall structure are so powerful that you might have to invite Thor to shatter it with his hammer.


At the entrance to the mansion, there is a 9.5-meter vault, which can easily be described as India's most massive vault (maybe in the world). The two-story stately structure is nearly complete (when I last went, the inside woodwork was in process), and it appears that by the time I return, the entire Kulkarni clan will have moved in.


"If you're going to live, leave a legacy," Maya Angelou said. Make an indelible impression on the world", I believe my friend Anirudha has done just that by imagining, conceiving, and building this magnificent "chirebandi Kulkarni WADA" – Take a bow, pal. You have done the entire 1986 Silver Jubilee batch proud. Aurangabad now has a new "must-see and must-visit location" that will be added to the tour itinerary in the near future.











18 views0 comments

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page