top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Snuggle, muddle and then uncouple

Snuggle, muddle and then uncouple : My quick take on Netflix’s web series “Decoupled”


It took long for me to ‘copulate’ with the idea of watching this uber-rich societal drama, something which is far away from my sensibilities. Having read reviews good as well as bad and having received few ‘farmaish/s’ to review this Netflix web series. Let me confess that I sat with a preconceived mindset that I will be watching a Kjo’s version of urban rich social life where some Anushka will be dancing to celebrate her breakup (remember – Oh dil pe pathar rakhkar, muh pe makeup kar Liya, mere saiyaa Ji se Aaj Maine breakup kar Liya)


My fears were not exactly unfounded, as this is a break-up story where a married couple decides to “de-couple” and “re-wind” the saptpaadi and call it a day, yet continue to stay under the same roof “Apni pyari beti ki khatir” – How noble and profound vichar.


For starters, I didn't think I'd be able to sit through this 8-episode series, but like a good single malt, it slowly works its way into your system and you'll never realize how you fell in love with this cocky and curt protagonist (played beautifully by R Madhavan), and you'll end up binge-watching, rather than getting coupled to this decoupled.


What worked for me? was it the playful writing? was it the subtle tongue-in-cheek type humor? is it because of the performances of the entire cast? Was it because of some real Laugh out loud moments? Maybe it is a concoction of everything which made me binge-watch. This reminded me of some English plays staged by Bombay theatre groups that I had seen in Dubai, I was rattled to watch such adultish plays. for someone coming from a Marathi theatre background, it was a forced baptism into adulthood.


R Madhavan steals the show with his brash performance, Beautiful Surveen Chawla, at last, gets a meaty role to act, nice to see Chetan Bhagat performing himself in a cameo, all other characters are handpicked and they have given their best. The camerawork is excellent, and the writing is good, eliciting laughter in many situations while also becoming a little philosophical in others. It did make me ponder as to “Is marriage an ownership deal? Or is it a contractual obligation? Or is it janm janmantaar ka saath? Or can we be just friends?


I am not sure if everybody will relish this ‘quirky’ humor this is not a series for a family watch, you can watch it alone or with your spouse, strictly not for kids not because of skin show (it has none) but more for its graphic language.




3 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page