top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

The Queen

The Queen : My quick take on Rani Mukherjee’s “Mrs. Chatterjee Vs Norway” (Netflix)


I was left kicking myself as to why I did not watch this classic courtroom custody battle earlier. Maybe it was Rani Mukherji’s over-the-top acting in Hitchki made me stay away assuming that Rani would repeat herself in a ‘put on’ melodrama. But let me confess that I was pleasantly wronged by this ‘Queen’ (Rani). She has probably given her best performance of her career. (Let me also thank my dear niece Megha Bilgi, for recommending this movie to watch)

Watch it for Rani, watch it for a crafty screenplay which can give run for money to any malayali screenplays, watch it for great ensemble of cast and their impeccable performances ( I love the performance of lady lawyer who fights the case for Rani), watch it for a heart touching message that a mother can go to extent to protect her kids.

Plot is based on a true story of Sagarika Chakraborty, and her feisty custody battle against Norwegian authorities who had taken away her young kids to foster care. Rani Mukerji plays the role of the doting docile Devi who turns into a Durga when her kids are taken away.


A movie which I should have watched on “Mothers day” , I did watch it on “Fathers Day”. 😇 (देर से आये, लेकिन दुरुस्त आये)


Dont miss it, it's available on Netflix


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page