top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

The Queen of The South

The Queen of the south: My quick take on a Spanish web series ‘La Reina del Sur’


In my review of ‘Ingobernable’ I had confessed that I had fallen in love with a,) Spanish web series b) vivacious Kate del Castillio. This had led me to watch the series ‘La Reina del Sur which means ‘Queen of the south’. I am taken aback looking at the top-notch production quality of these south American web series, these are at par with any great A Hollywood products. My only complaint is that they have overstretched plots and subplots which makes the season very long. For eg this season 2 on Netflix has as many as 60 episodes. However, no complaints as the pacy sequences and racy action keep you glued to the TV.


There is some confusion about the season shown on Netflix, it says season 1, however, the episodes get mentioned as s2e1 and so on. I found this season so intense and gripping that started to scout for season 1 and season 3. Apart from the gripping story and top class production quality which can match any bond movie the sub titles make your understanding easier.


Plot is about an ex-DEA agent (kate del Castello) who is into hiding with her daughter in Italy, is traced back and her daughter is kidnapped and she is forced to come out of hibernation and made to do some impossible tasks नहीं तो बेटी की जान ख़तरे में 😜. And of course बेटी के जान के ख़ातिर, this Terresa Mendonsa makes us watch 60 episodes. And in the process, we travel with her from Italy to Russia to Mexico to the USA and Morocco and get to see the drug mafia, corrupt politicians, emotional रोना धोना और बिछड़ना और मिलना, and usual Big btothers over indulgence in Mexican politics.


I love such action-packed thrillers laced with political drama, if you too like such plots then dont miss it. For me it was simply ‘impresionante’ (means ‘awesome’ - thanks Netflix)

1 view0 comments

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page