top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarish Bilgi

Underrated Thriller

Underrated thriller: My quick take on the Malayalam movie “Pakalum Pathiravum” (zee5)


This was a surprise package for me, once again I was impressed by Malyalee writers for coming up with yet again a thriller with a ‘dryshyam-like twist’. I simply loved the plot and overall treatment given by the director, which looked like a snail-paced plot but the झटकेबाज़ climax simply rattles you. While my mind was going gaga over the creativity of the Kerala film industry, I was sweetly surprised to know that the movie was adapted from a Kannada movie “Aa Karaala Ratri” (a dubbed version is available on YouTube). The original movie is based on an English play “Lithuania”.


Even though I have not read the play nor I have seen the Kannada Ratri, I think the plot is beautifully adapted in the Malbaar setup. It's a story of a wildlife photographer who is driving from Kochi to Mysore, who then plans a refuge in a house where a daughter with parents is living. There is a subplot that the police and forest rangers get a whiff that some naxals are on the run, hence patrolling in the town is tightened up. Who is this stranger? Is he the Naxal on the run? Why he chose to stay in this place...... These are a few questions that will get answered if you sit through this lovely movie.


A story that beautifully touches the human sentiments of greed and hopelessness. Kunchacko Boban adds a star value to the cast, his cameo is impressive. The real ‘hero’ of the movie is Rajitha Vijayan, she is simply awesome as Mercy (!!) Beautiful locations of the Western Ghats is simply pristine and it is beautifully captured by the lensman.


It's a must-watch movie in my view, if possible watch the Kannada original available on YouTube ( आ कराला रात्री).



2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page